GLIDER CITY TESTIMONIALS

If you have stayed with us we would love to hear from you.  Please use our contact form and let us know how we stacked up.

For more recent review see the Trip Advisor page : 

 

https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Hotel_Review-g261655-d630142-Reviews-Glider_City_Motel-Benalla_Victoria.html 

Copied from Trip Advisor reviews

 

Liz W, Sydney - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 5 June 2017

Great place to stay

On the way from Melb to Syd at night we ended up staying at Glider City Motel Benalla. What a lovely stay! When I called re pricing and availability - I agreed & expected to have to give cr card details to hold the room, but no - they said - just come in! The owners are so friendly - nothing is a problem. We were going to arrive later (around 8pm) so I called to ask if they had a restaurant - answer no (no motels in Benalla do as there are so many other restaurants). Michael told me that all of the restaurants close around 8 or 8:30 he mentioned that a particular pub (the North Eastern Hotel in Nunn st) had a nice restaurant ... noted - I thought we'd try to get dinner there. Well to my surprise Michael called me back again (still in the car) & said that he had made a booking at the pub for us for dinner as well & they'd be expecting us. The pub was fantastic - they knew who we were when we entered, made us so welcome, had a lovely warm table reserved. The food was amazing. The staff welcoming & helpful. What a place. The fact that Glider City Motel took so much care of us was great s we were so tired from working in Melb & driving. The room was newly renovated & looked great. Couldn't get the aircon to work at first, but we hadn't let it warm up so (on our request) at about 10:30pm Michael came to the room to sort it out for us. Everything worked perfectly including the electric blankets! I would make a point of staying here again. About 3 hours from Melb - it takes a good amount of kms off the arduous Melb to Syd drive & makes the next day much more enjoyable. Thank you Glider City - Mandy & Michael.

******************

Vanessa K, Melbourne - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed June 2017 - travelled with family

Glider Apartment

3 Bedroom house suited our needs perfectly
We stayed at the house recently to attend a family gathering. The house has 3 bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, dining, huge laundry and spa in the bathroom. There is adequate parking inside the front gates of the house for 3-4 cars. The hosts are lovely, and we took advantage of the free shuttle bus to drop us at the party venue. Beds had electric blankets. Would definitely book again.
Show less
Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family

****************************

BendigoGreg, Greater Bendigo - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 5 June 2017 

Motor racing events
Room was awesome. Nice touches like quality plunger coffee and complimentary biscuits. Nice touch. Very clean. Michael is so obliging. Great stay. will never stay anywhere else in Benalla. Convenience of the courtesy bus is awesome too.

*****************************

Ian L  - 4 of 5 stars - Reviewed 10 May 2017

Clean, convenient and good value.
Great motel to stop overnight when travelling the Hume Hwy. Clean and all necessary facilities for a comfortable night. Monday night not the best for eating in Benalla. The Northo hotel served great meals.

 *****************************

John G, Melbourne - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 18 May 2017

Excellent place to stay
Second time I have stayed at this motel. As for the first time, the staff are very polite and pleasant and the rooms clean, tidy and comfortable with all necessary amenities. Importantly, the beds are very comfortable.

************************************

Lynne A, Brisbane - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 6 April 2017

Great Motel in the wonderful town of Benalla, in Victoria, Australia.
Very very clean, bright & fresh. Bed was very comfortable, we had a great nights sleep. Big window letting in lots of sunshine in the afternoon and fresh air if you don't want to use the air conditioner. Plenty of water presure in the shower, which was a delight. Room service breakfast was well worth ordering. Even though we didn't use it, there is a lovely pool in the back garden. We will certainly go back to this motel whenever in Benalla again.
Show less
Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple

*************************************

Taz K, Melbourne - 5 of 5 stars -Reviewed 3 April 2017

A great place to stay.
Both Mandy and Michael are just great hosts and we are always welcome when we stay at their Motel. Michael being a car guy goes well with us as we also like great cars and enjoy conversation about them.

*************************************

Joeterri69, Melbourne - 5 of 5 stars - Reviewed 1 April 2017

Impressed, Staff & Service Excellant

Staff very polite and helpful, rooms large and very clean and comfortable, very clean pool and BBQ area, very quite and off street parking, three minute drive from town with a number options to choose from for dinner.

*************************************

Cheryl52, Melbourne - 4 of 5 stars - Reviewed 25 March 2017

Margaret's Catch up
One night stay in Benalla and chose this motel from Trip Advisor. The owners were friendly and helpful. The room immaculately clean which is a big plus for me. Lovely big bathroom for my travelling companion who needs assistance and plenty of space around the room. I personally found the bed too firm for my comfort. Highly recommend this motel based in its cleanliness.

 

 

*************************************

'Lovely rooms, lovely owners'      MG aussie - 5 of 5 stars  Reviewed Nov 2016

Always good, clean comfortable rooms. Car parking at your door. Outdoor pool with tables and chairs to help you soak up the beautiful country fresh air. Staff are friendly and helpful. They even offer a courtesy bus to the local pub. What more could you need?

 

Really nice         Lori C - 5 of 5 stars     Reviewed 26 Oct 2016

We had the family room.  Super comfortable beds and pillows and big toasty warm blanket in the cupboard with extra pillows.  Great sounding tv that the kids can actually hear.  Very clean. Very friendly, kind man that owns the motel.  Great easy to use amenities. Although us being a bit silly and not reading the instructions had to call the guy to show us how to use the DVD player and he was so accommodating. Had a great convo with him.

He's put a lot of thought into this place to make you feel really comfortable. 

Great place to stay and super quiet rooms.  We'll be back for sure for your spa room.  Thanks for a really nice nights stay.

Lauralee and Lance Crocker       Stayed October 2016, travelled with family

 

 "Good nights sleep”     Tas K  -  5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2016 

Rooms were great a home away from home peace and quiet clean and well equipped kitchen and bathroom, great staff normal and friendly. Close to Benalla & Winton Raceway just right for us as CAMS Marshalls.

 

"Great Comfortable Facilities "         Darren_888  -  4 of 5 stars   Reviewed June 2016 

Stayed in the newly renovated Spa Room. WOW - the Managers have done a fantastic job. Fantastic amenities, comfortable room and friendly, informative staff. This, in my opinion, is the most Motel in Benalla and it will the only place I stay when passing through Ballina. Looking forward to my next visit.

 

********

"Short stay in Benalla, Victoria”     V8smurf  -  4 of 5 stars     Reviewed June 2016 
I needed to be in Benalla for some work recently. After looking around, Glider City Motel was selected. The hosts were great they even gave me a call the night of my check in to see if all was OK.
Check in was easy and friendly, a very nice experience. The room was spacious and comfortable with all the basic amenities required.
I needed assistance on a couple of occasions and the team were only too happy to help.
Location for me was great, it is just on the fringe of town but takes no more than a couple of minutes to drive to shops or its a pleasant stroll.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Benalla.

Stayed May 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Friendly and comfortable”       542Jane_R -  4 of 5 stars     Reviewed June 2016  

Michael and Mandy are welcoming, friendly and caring. The hotel is clean, neat and the rooms are spacious. The bathroom was a great size with plenty of bench space and a good shower. Beds are comfortable. The only thing I don't like is exposed brick walls. I find this makes a place look dark but this is forgivable at Glider City as the rooms are so big. Although the hotel is situated on a large and busy round-a-bout, the noise is practically non-existent. I think the distance from the centre of town (quite a long walk but no hills) is probably it's only downfall but if you have a car, this negates the problem. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2016 - travelled solo

 

********

Wouldn't stay anywhere else”    Brodric G -  5 of 5 stars      Reviewed 26 May 2016  
Been staying here for a while on business and with the other options in Benalla, this is by far the number one spot in town. All the rooms are constantly being updated and renovated. I 100% recommend this motel.

Stayed May 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Comfort, Friendly hosts and security”    Mark T - 5 of 5 stars   Reviewed 19 May 2016  
We have stayed in many Motels, and even hotels overseas but this Motel without being overpriced, is clearly the best value we've found. Not to mention it is up to date in furnishings, free WiFi, USB charging points, perfectly appointed bathrooms and bedrooms, pool, spa etc. For a quiet restful stay in Benalla or the district, this motel you will find is the best. Michael and his staff will make you feel comfortable, and at home. If you have interests in the area, want to vist Winton, Beechworth or other of the many attractions and you stay here, you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a spa, book ahead for that feature.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple

 

********

Glider City keeps getting better”             Greg E  - 5 of 5 starsReviewed      12 May 2016
Right from the warm welcome, the hospitality shown by Michael and Mandy is second to none. Since my last visit I've noticed the pool area is even better and Michael kindly gave our team a courtesy bus to the Pub.
My room was excellent; updated decor and very comfortable. Great stay as always.

Stayed May 2016, travelled on business

 

********

"Best place in Benalla"    LG3226   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 May 2016
I have been staying here for years with work and it never disappoints. Fantastic renovations have been done and room 1 is amazing. Would 100% recommend this motel to anyone in the area. Mike & Mandy provide the best customer service I have experienced at any motel. A+++

Stayed May 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Exceptional Customer Service”     Warren C   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 7 April 2016   
I stayed here with a group of friends who all flew in for a career pilot's reunion; Michael and Mandy went out of their way to welcome us and ensure our stay was comfortable and pleasant. As we had flown in we didn't have a vehicle, however, that wasn't an issue as Michael happily picked us up from the Airfield, and drove us to restaurants and anywhere else we needed to go in their Courtesy Bus. We could not have asked for better service. The accommodation itself was very well appointed and clean.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends

 

********

“Five Star Customer Service & a cold beer!”    Oz S  -   5 of 5 stars     Reviewed 29 March 2016
Recently stayed at Glider City Motel while attending a weekend Wall to Wall street art festival in Benalla. What a great find - Mike, the owner even took me around town to show me where the good street art locations were - had a great courtesy bus too! Rooms are really comfortable, clean and modern - great pool and gardens. You can even buy a beer or wine from reception - what more could you possibly want. Highly recommend this place, and a great little town also.

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Nice surprise, lovely staff, very clean”   dibMelbourne  - 5 of 5 stars     Reviewed 29 March 2016    
I was surprised with a smaller town having such a lovely spot to stay. The rooms have been renovated and you can tell a lot of thought has gone into this. The room was lovely and clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There is a BBQ onsite as well as a pool for relaxing after a long day. I also liked the idea of having a courtesy bus for visitors. Highly recommend to anyone staying in Benalla.

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

"Top Spot, great amenities and really friendly people!”     yehaa - 5 of 5 stars      Reviewed 28 March 2016
Have stayed at Glider City Motel quite a few times now - best accommodation in Benalla. So clean, great rooms - especially the spa room - great pool, lovely relaxing gardens and Michael & Mandy (the owners) are so hospitable and friendly and have a heap of local knowledge. They go out of their way to help you have a great stay at their motel and in the whole region. Highly highly recommend!
They even have a courtesy bus.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in have been great, but one of the SPA rooms would be the best choice.
Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple

 

********

"Excellent!”        qaqaaaaa   -     4 of 5 stars       Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile 
Good little place to stay on the way to Syd/mel.   
Nice, tidy room with a good bed aircon etc.
Friendly service and a courtesy bus to run you to restaurants and pubs AND just ring Michael and he'll bring you back to your room!
Very good breaky delivered bang on time.   Plenty of room for trucks and work vehicles
right out the front.
Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Friendly & Helpful staff, comfortable room”    Beaf1891   -    5 of 5 stars      Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile
Friendly & Helpful staff, comfortable room, what more could you ask for! They offer a complimentary mini van service anywhere in town including pick up. Walking distance to airport. Dinner recommendations were also excellent. Will be back if I'm in Benalla again.

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Glider city motel top marks. ”     Johannos   -  4 of 5 stars       Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile
Excellent facility friendly staff clean no complaints.
Pool and pool area well kept and inviting on a hot day.
I will use the motel again.
Drive through main shopping strip to next roundabout and you are there.
Good parking area and a courtesy bus as an added bonus.

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“very clean and friendly”       OBrienSports     - 4 of 5 starsReviewed 2 March 2016
The Glider City Motel is a very nice motel on the edge of town. It is very clean and has a friendly staff. Well worth a stay. The parking is large and is fine for a car with trailer. A very short drive to the city centre.

Stayed March 2016, travelled on business

 

********

"Great place with great owners”     Cheryl w    -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 February 2016
Very clean and tidy rooms, cleaned spotlessly. Very welcoming hosts only too happy to help in anyway. Made ourselves and three children very welcome. Would highly recommend for accommodation when staying in Benalla.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms
Stayed February 2016, travelled with family

 

 ********

“Great motel,Great location”      eugen s   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 February 2016
I am a little bias in my review due to the fact that i was born and raised in Benalla. I live in Bunbury WA now and have done for 25 years so when I come home to visit family and friends it is always great to have a nice place to stay and The Glider City Motel is perfect.
Micheal and Mandy are great hosts with a chat every now and again too also leaving you in peace. I asked them a few times if they could drop me off at different places around town in the courtesy bus and they were more than happy to do so. I will be back in October with my family and can't wait too see me family and friends and to also see Micheal and Mandy again. Great stuff. Keep up the good work.

Stayed February 2016, travelled solo

 

********

"Best Motel I Have Stayed at in a Long Time.”       Sharon M   -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 February 2016
The Owners and Staff where friendly and welcoming, they went out of there way to make not just us but everybody staying there feel welcomed . Michael the owner was always there with suggestion for places to see and where to go for dinner. The Glider Courtesy Bus got a great work out with Michael dropping us to dinner and picking us up.
The rooms are Spacious and Beautifully presented and comfortable. The Pool and Gardens are beautiful maintained and BBQ facilities are great for friend and family. The Pool Area is beautiful with plenty of shade to keep you sun safe.
I would highly recommended this Motel to anyone travelling to Benalla, ***** 5 stars to the Owners and Staff
Stayed February 2016

 

********

“Outstanding accomodation”      maddiechelsea   -   5 of 5 stars       Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile
Had the pleasure in staying at this lovely motel again.nothing is ever too much trouble for the owners.the rooms are very modern,comfortable and always spotless.The gardens and the pool area are very well maintained.I can honestly say that anyone needing accommodation in Benalla that the Glider City Motel is the best in town.

Stayed February 2016, travelled on business

 

********

“Above and beyond!”     Michelle K     - 5 of 5 stars     Reviewed 17 February 2016
My friend and I were driving from Melbourne to Canberra with a planned stop at the Glider City Motel. Near Seymour we had a car accident. This meant we didn't get to the motel till 3.30am the next morning. Michael was absolutely fabulous. He helped us get advice from the local smash repairer and was nothing but understanding and helpful. He even drove us to Wangaratta to pick up a hire car so we could continue our journey to Canberra. We are forever grateful. I would rate the motel as a 5 for the experience we had. Thank you again!

Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends


********

 

"Simply amazing experience....great stay in Benalla!!”    Nayster13   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 January 2016
We stayed at the Glider City Motel on our way to Canberra, we were arriving in the early hours of the morning, it was an easy process for us to collect are key, Unexpectedly on this trip I had a car accident, and well by the time we finally arrived at the motel it was such a relief to find a clean, spacious, tidy room and comfy beds! The next morning what I experienced from Mike and his staff was beyond words it was simply amazing! Fantastic country customer service I call it, never have I been looked after like this at a hotel. Owner Mike went out of his way to check my car, he helped us with getting the car towed, organising a hire car and he even drove my friend and I to Wangaratta to collect the hire car so we could continue our journey to Canberra.
This was truly remarkable customer service as we didn't expect it but it was very much appreciated.
The Glider City Motel is my number one choice to stay when I'm in Benalla!

Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends

 

********

"The best accommodation for glider pilots”    Marta2800   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 January 2016
Definitely best accommodation in Benalla for visiting glider pilots. This is our 4th time here and we wouldn't book anywhere else. The Glider City Motel is by far the cleanest and best maintained motel in Australia. Huge, comfortable rooms with brand new bathrooms and air conditioning that doesn't make any sound whatsoever. The owners are passionate about their business and keep the standard unbeatable. Don't even think about staying anywhere else in Benalla!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
Stayed January 2016, travelled as a couple

 

********

“Stop over in Benalla.”      393tony    -    5 of 5 starsReviewed 30 December 2015
The Glider City Motel is by far the best Motel we have stayed in for a long time. Extremely helpful Staff, courtesy bus, free internet, spotless room very well priced. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: we were in room 4 which was near the road, we didn't hear any traffic at all.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2015, travelled with family

 

********

"One of the best accommodation places of our 3 week trip”       Deb S   -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 29 December 2015
My husband travels for work and said that this motel was the best motel we stayed at our whole trip. Our trip was a 3 week touring holiday throughout New South Wales and Victoria. It was not only the cheapest motel but, in his opinion, it was the best. It was clean, tidy and had everything you need for an overnight/weekly stay. There had been careful planning in the layout of the room and it included everything one needs for their stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive queen twin
Stayed November 2015, travelled as a couple

 

 ********

“Lovely place and lovely hosts”     Annie R    -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 December 2015
This is our second visit and we have already booked for next year's East Coast Super Mini Challenge event at Winton Raceway. Improvements since our last visit: rooms and bathrooms have been upgraded, shade installed over the pool, new aircon, free wifi and the courtesy bus. Mike was happy to drive our group to and from dinner each night. Mandy helped with restaurant recommendations. Plenty of space to park car trailers, which was much appreciated on a previous visit when we had to continue on to Melbourne for a funeral. Mike and Mandy offered secure parking at no cost - unlike other places which charge per day. Breakfast is good quality and value, and the tea and coffee are quality brands. Nothing is too much trouble for this friendly couple who clearly love what they do.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are great.
Stayed December 2015, travelled as a couple

 

********

“Excellent place to stay if you're racing at Winton, visiting Benalla or travelling along the Hume Highway!!!!”     Cameronwalters -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 November 2015
The Glider City Motel has it all when it comes to staying in Benalla! It's proximity to Winton Motor Raceway makes it a joy to stay at when racing and in a hurry to get to the track yet still right in Benalla. The customer service was fantastic from the hotel owners, and you get that lovely old friendly service with quality. Not to mention, if you're going to have a drink or two at the pub the owner drove us down in his courtesy bus that is an adventure in itself. Rooms are big and large but most of all extremely clean. Has to be the best motel in Benalla and I've visited some teammates staying at others and Glider City still in pole position!

Stayed November 2015, travelled on business

 

********

"Surprised stop over”      Johnoa62   -   4 of 5 starsReviewed 31 October 2015
Decided to stop at Benalla for the night instead of Wangaratta and loved the place. The Glider City Motel was spotless, a very friendly welcome by Michael who provided heaps of information about Benalla. Great places to eat and drink so make use of the motel's courtesy bus.

Stayed October 2015, travelled solo

 

********

Private email received 21/10/15.


From: John A
Subject: RE: Thank you for staying at Glider City Motel, Benalla

Michael & Mandy,

I really enjoyed my stay at your motel for the night. Your friendly advice and courtesy bus was fantastic. I have been talking to a lot of my friends about my stay Benalla and recommend your motel and town as a great place to go for a long weekend .

Regards, John

 

********

 

More copied from Trip Advisor reviews

********

"Lovely place to stay.”      BACorbett    -   4 of 5 starsReviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile
Great welcome, updated spotless room, quiet and private, the bathroom was pristine and staff do a great job with the room.
Definitely stay there again
And the breakfast cooked perfectly. Walking distance to town, big in-ground pool and BBQ area.

Stayed October 2015, travelled on business

 

********

"Good Accommodation in Banella”      John S    -   4 of 5 starsReviewed 11 October 2015
We checked in on short notice ( a party of 4) on a busy weekend and were looked after by Michael with 2 large rooms that were very well presented. This is a family business and both Michael and his wife are very friendly.
Whilst the motel is situated a little distance from CDB we were driven to our venue and picked up later in the evening nothing was a problem.
Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends

 

********

"Great place to unwind after busy day.”     Margaret D  -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 10 October 2015
Many thanks to Michael and Mandy. A very comfortable room with all facilities, including a jug of fresh milk for tea supplied at check in. Liked the walk in shower, with easily controlled taps. Five minute drive to city centre.

Room Tip: Room faces street, not an issue at night but some traffic noise from early morning. Double glazing o...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple

 

********

"Immaculate”      Rozzie S     -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile
Fantastic room, well appointed & very clean, beautiful grounds, thank you so much Michael & Mandy. Your business is a credit to you both & an enjoyable time for us. I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends

 

********

"Fantastic Motel”     Lydia S   -    5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 September 2015
Immaculate rooms , beautiful gardens very neat and tidy. Owners very pleasant and helpful. As an extra service they have a mini bus to take you to pubs and resturants. Great location to get to Bright and Beechworth.

Room Tip: All ground floor rooms for easy access
Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends

 

********

"Great place to stay and great Hosts”      outbackcamper      -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 September 2015
Big thank you to Michael, our host, we arrived late in the evening and he was more then happy to stand out in the freezing cold and help guide our 17ft trailer into the safety of the courtyard with the added benefit of cctv security protecting our farm equipment on the trailer. Our room was spotless, very quite and warm and cosy. We only phoned up to make a booking 15 minutes before arriving and our hosts had already had the heater and electric blankets turned on in our room when we arrived. you would have to be crazy to drive past Glider city and stay anywhere else in Benalla. We will definitely be staying again at Glider City next time we are in Benalla.

Stayed September 2015, travelled on business

 

********

“Best Motel in Benalla”    Melissa A    -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile
Thank you Michael and Mandy for a great stay in your spacious, clean and very comfortable motel. Great location, quiet and ever so clean and we both slept really well on the comfortable beds. Your friendly and welcoming service and sense of humour certainly made our stay that more personalised. We will be back!! Melissa and Terry x

Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple

 

********

“Fantastic motel”       James W   -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile
My wife and I have stayed a few times while working... Everything is spotless and Michael is a fantastic host and will go oug of his way to make your stay comfortable.... so if you are looking for a beautiful motel to stay at then come to glider city.

Cheers  

James

Stayed September 2015, travelled on business

 

********

"Fantastic motel”     jkteip    -   5 of 5 starsReviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile
My husband and I have stayed numerous times whilst working at Winton. Mandy and Michael are wonderful hosts and remember us everytime we come back. I can very highly recommend this motel for anyone who is travelling theough Benalla.

Stayed November 2014, travelled on business

 

********

"All that you need.”     Tania T   -   4 of 5 starsReviewed 15 September 2015
Often stay at Glider City Motel when passing through from NSW. Michael always remembers who you are which makes you feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and once the door is shut it's lovely and quiet so you're guaranteed a good night sleep. Everything that you require is supplied and Michael is always happy to deliver you to a local restaurant ... and pick you up if you don't feel like a stroll back. it's just a good "after dinner walk" away.

Stayed August 2015, travelled on business

 

********

"Welcomed with a smile!”     fieldys   -  5 of 5 starsReviewed 13 September 2015
Can't speak highly enough about our stay at the Glider Motel. Both Mandy and Michael were outstanding hosts making sure everything was fine. Michael going above and beyond with ensuring our disabled travelling companion was catered for and had everything she required. The Glider courtesy bus took us to dinner at the bowls club then returned us back to the motel. Had room service for breaky and it was HUGE! Great place to stay.

Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends

 

 

 ********

“Weekend away with car club”      hchevrolet - Reviewed June 2015 5 of 5 stars

Like to say thank you to Michael and his staff for looking after us with table chairs bbq and everything that goes with a bbq including heaters. Great motel good location recommend to all thanks again.Clean facilities great grounds for picnic or bbq .Nice pool area too.

Stayed June 2015, travelled with friends

 

*******

Rae L -  Reviewed June 2015     5 of 5 stars 

“Weekend away with car club”
Like to say thank you to Michael and his staff for looking after us with table chairs bbq and everything that goes with a bbq including heaters. Great motel good location recommend to all thanks again.Clean facilities great grounds for picnic or bbq .Nice pool area too.

Stayed June 2015, travelled with friends

 

*******

CherylS - Reviewed June 2015      5 of 5 stars 

“BMC Leyland Car Club Away”

Upon arrival we met with the manager (who went out of his way for the comfort for our club). We were having a BBQ Dinner and breakfast. The manager set up tables, chairs, crockery and cutlery. He presented us with outdoor heaters for comfort. The rooms were spacious, clean and stocked with everything a traveller would need. We can highly recommend this motel. Thank you Michael. I am sure we will return

Stayed June 2015, travelled with friends

 

*******

"We went to this motel with a group of 18 and the service offered was beyond expectations and with great care and conside”

SueW  -  Reviewed June 2015

5 of 5 starsReviewed today NEW
Excellent service over and beyond what you would expect,lovely man in the owner who comes out to chat with guests,clean,quiet,roomy and comfortable rooms,great BBQ area supplies everything definitely recommend,will go again

     Stayed June 2015, travelled with friends

 

*******

Lachlan M  -  Reviewed June 2015      5 of 5 stars     via mobile

“Great accommodation for Winton race weekends!”
I have stayed at the Glider City Motel on race weekends at Winton since 2012, and have always enjoyed the friendly hosts and lovely service. I highly recommend the Glider City Motel to anyone visiting Benalla for work, rest or play.

Stayed June 2015, travelled on business

 

 *******

"“OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Postman P - Reviewed June 2015

Even though it was for a business trip, both Michael & Mandy were both very warm and hospitable. The rooms are great with every comfort even the multi-nighter would be content with.   A must stay at venue for any road trip or local event. Even business!!!    

      Stayed May 2015, travelled on business

*******

“Quiet, clean and friendly.”

ScottL8 - Reviewed May 2015   

I stayed here with some friends as members of a car club. The room and bathroom was exceptionally clean and the location at the edge of town is very quiet (apologies to the other guests when we started our cars pre-dawn to leave). Plenty of room to park and even a garage/workshop area for guests. The manager was happy to chat with us about the recent more famous guests. Will definitely be back.    

    Stayed May 2015. travelled with friends

 *******

 "Overnight stay"

 GH59  - Reviewed May 2015

From my first visit I was made feel very welcome by michael and mandy.They genuinely care and the service shown to me was excellent a thing that is hard to find these days.Rooms are spacious ,very clean, and well maintained.  

     Stayed May 2015, travelled on business

*******

“Great motel, great people!”

Jeff H - Reviewed 20 April 2015
I have been staying here regularly for several years. I find it is a great place to stay, within easy reach of Melbourne as I make my way from Canberra .The hosts, Micheal and Mandy always go out of there way to make me feel at home when I stay and are always quick to offer any assistance where needed. The rooms are modern, clean and well maintained and very comfortable. In the years that I have been staying here I cant remember one bad experience and would highly recommend Glider City Motel to anyone.
Plenty of truck parking out the front too which is great and often hard to find.
Good job guys, no wonder the carpark is always full.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Witt Street are quieter if you're a light sleeper. Rooms facing the main road look over th well maintained grounds.  

     Stayed April 2015, travelled on business

******* 

“The only place to stay for a relaxing comfortable stop”

janev8 - Reviewed 28 February 2015
Always a pleasure to stay here. Very clean , quiet , friendly management. Enjoyed the pool and bbq setting for a relaxing evening. Highly recommend as the only place to stay in benella. We will be back again.

******* 

“Thankyou for your wonderful service”
juliepearn - Reviewed 18 February 2015
Unfortunately I had travel from Deniliquin to Benalla for an eye operation last week. I checked out on the site to see recommendations, as when in Benalla on previous visits I had stayed with friends. From the moment we arrived we could not have asked for more. Our hosts could see that I also had had a shoulder operation, offered us a disability room, I felt we would be fine in one of their normal rooms. I cannot say that I have ever stayed in a motel with such a comfortable bed, my friend, said hers was as well. We ordered a hot breakfast early the first morning as I was not going be able to eat for day. Wow what a lovely surprise that was, just like a beautiful home cooked breakfast. No way either of us could finish it. Just like to say to our hosts, even though we were there for an unpleasant experience, they made us feel at home, and nothing was ever to much trouble for them. My friend had never been to Benalla and was very taken with the town and the hospitality shown to us where ever we went. Thank you for two lovely evenings spent with you.

            Stayed February 2015, travelled with friends

 *******

  “Fabulous service and excellent room”

IanCherieR - Reviewed 22 January 2015
Received the most amazing welcome with a wine tasting in reception followed by informative and friendly check-in. The room was better than many 4-5 star properties we've stayed in and was spotlessly clean, thoughtfully appointed with toaster, jug, crockery etc and was large and tastefully decorated. The pool and outdoor area was delightful and we wished we could have stayed longer than our 2 nights - we'll definitely be back.

             Stayed January 2015, travelled on business

*******

Annual trip to Benalla”
DrHenryM - Reviewed 29 December 2014
We have been staying at Glider City Motel for the last 8 years at this time of year. Our kids were going to a nearby annual summer camp and the purpose of our travels was to visit them. Rather than drive from Melbourne and back on the same day, we decided early on to stay overnight in Benalla. We now stay 2 nights and continue to come even though our kids are adults and no longer on camp. A group of our friends do the same. Mandy and Michael provide accommodation that is clean and comfortable. Always very friendly and helpful. The recent renovations are also very nice.

              Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends

*******

Pleasant owners”

Jessicap1111 - Reviewed 15 January 2015 via mobile
I'm writing this review for anyone who has chemical sensitivities who is looking at these. For the average person this motel would be very pleasant, nice owners, new bed spreads, microwave on request and soap despensers in the bathroom. Unfortunately for anyone with chemical sensitivites, not so good, I had to leave and go elsewhere.

               Stayed January 2015

Reply:  Unfortunately in this case a lady was very sensitive to the smell of our new bedspreads, which were only a few months old at the time. 

 *******

“Love the place”

David F - Reviewed 14 January 2015
We have stayed at the Glider for 10 years over the christmas break. We love the place and the owers are great and very accommodating. The outside BBQ area is great, the owners provide plates and all the stuff for a great outdoor BBQ. Rooms are basic but clean, good air conditioning and clean bathrooms..

                Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends

*******

“Clean, comfortable and quiet”
Andrew3806 - Reviewed 12 January 2015
Great value, good location, very clean and very quiet. Everything a small country motel should be. Very easy to recommend. Bed was just right and great water pressure made for a good shower in the morning.

                 Stayed January 2015, travelled solo

*******

Great place highly recommend”
Abcdrg  - Reviewed 5 January 2015
I have stayed many times at Glider City...it is always good value ...lovely breakfasts ...and the owners are extremely nice and approachable...would highly recommend...I stay as a stop over between NSW and Victoria

                 Stayed October 2014

*******

“Benalla stay”
Karen H - Reviewed 4 January 2015
We would highly recommend this very comfortable, quiet, newly renovated clean and tidy motel.
It has large parking bays, no stairs and is convenient to the township. It has very friendly and helpful owners/staff. Would stay there every time.

                  Stayed January 2015, travelled as a couple

*******

“Great Motel”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 27 December 2014
Stayed here with Mum and Dad on the first night of a trip travelling south. Great choice for accommodation. Very close to the shops and take-away places etc. Clean, affordable, comfortable, tidy. Everything you could want for a motel. Would highly recommend.

                   Stayed December 2014, travelled with family

*******

“Almoste everything a Hume Highway Motel should be” 

austraberlin - Reviewed 25 December 2014
Heading north on a Saturday, with the plan to book once I knew I was getting tired.
Called this place at 21:30, a friendly lady answered the phone, took credit card details, and made sure the room was ready when I got there 45 minutes later.

The room was clean, fresh, warm. The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable. Coffee/tea toaster/iron/ironing board etc were basic but completely acceptable. These items are not a priority for me on a motorway lay-by motel.

When staying here, instead of it feeling cold and impersonal with besser bricks and harsh fluro lights, it basically felt like quite a nice place to stay, and you wonder "why aren't they all like this?"

The only minus is that this town is a little way off the highway - you will drive 7km in and 8km back out. But in return the place is completely quiet and i got a great night's sleep.

                   Stayed December 2014. travelled with friends 

 

*******

 “Such a great motel.”
Simmo M - Reviewed 18 December 2014
I recently stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms, and they are as well finished, and well appointed as any country 4 star hotel I've ever stayed in.

The hospitality is excellent, and whilst still close to town, the Glider City is far enough away to be wonderfully peaceful.

Cannot recommend highly enough

                   Stayed December 2014, travelled on business

*******

 “Great place to stay for a day or a week.”
cathielee - Reviewed 26 November 2014
My husband and myself took my mother for a trip to Benalla to help celebrate a special birthday. We had already booked into the Glider City Motel before we arrived,lucky we had as they were booked out for the weekend. We were happily greeted by Mandy and shown to our room. The room was very spacious and had everything you could want. The bathroom had a lovely big spa and was very clean. My mother loved her room which was next to us and also very spacious,clean and comfortable for her to relax for a few days. The Benalla Festival was on that same weekend which was a great. We headed to the river front were the festival was on and thoughoughly enjoyed the festivities that were happening. Food,fireworks a great band and top weather. Mandy and Michael told us of a little town not far named 'Thoona'. We went for a drive and had a lovely lunch at the 'Thoona' pub which we really enjoyed. We will definately be going back to the Glider City Motel. There also is a great pool area and bbq spot to enjoy the day or night. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Keep up the great work guys, you have a lovely spot there. Thanks for your hospitality.

Stayed November 2014, travelled with family

*******

If you would like to book a room then please click here or call us on (03) 5762 3399.